MSW Personal

If you’d like to see a current CV/Resume/etc…click here.

The story so far…

I grew up in Bristol, Connecticut. Traveled to Swarthmore College in 1997 and ended up majoring in Biochemistry – along the way, I had fun playing ultimate as an Earthworm, clarinet in the Wind Ensemble, and guitar in the Crum. Backpacked the Appalachian Trail in 2000, during a year off from school; worked in various labs in various places over the summers. Graduated in 2002 and moved to Brooklyn, NY to work as a research technician in Dr. Sandy Simon’s lab at Rockefeller University for a few years. Attended graduate school at the University of Wisconsin, Madison and worked on my Ph.D. in Dr. Ned Ruby’s lab studying the population biology of bioluminescent bacterial symbionts of a Hawaiian squid, among other things. I met Amanda while in Madison and we were married in 2009. We left Madison and took a break to backpack most of the Pacific Crest Trail in California in the summer and fall of 2011. After the hike, we moved to Cambridge, MA for postdoctoral work. In Cambridge, I was a fellow in Dr. Katherine Lemon’s lab, studying Staph. aureus and other bacteria found in the human nostril. Amanda and I arrived in Kalamazoo and started our positions in Jan. 2014. In the spring and summer of 2017, we visited Cork City Ireland and did some science in Dr. David Clarke’s awesome lab. In the summer of 2018, we welcomed our son, Ben, to the world and received tenure! In 2019-2020 we went on research leave at Kalamazoo, working on grant-funded science…and the pandemic hit. Now we’re all surviving the COVID years as best we can.

The people in my life define me – my family, friends, coworkers, and students. I enjoy running, walking, and biking – generally spending time outdoors. When time permits, I like to play music, cook and grow things, backpack, and ferment microbial stuff for fun.